Flyspray - The bug killer!

  • Status Unconfirmed
  • Percent Complete
    0%
  • Task Type Bug Report
  • Category Notifications → Email
  • Assigned To No-one
  • Operating System All
  • Severity High
  • Priority Very Low
  • Reported Version 1.0-beta
  • Due in Version Undecided
  • Due Date Undecided
  • Votes 1
  • Private
Attached to Project: Flyspray - The bug killer!
Opened by Charles Stevenson - 06.01.2016

FS#2094 - After Upgrade All Users Receive Notifications for All Tasks (Even if account disabled)

I upgraded from 0.9.9 to 1.0-beta2 a few hours ago. I received an error about oauth during the upgrade (didn’t think to take a screenshot). In any case, the upgrade otherwise seemed to go smoothly. When I subsequently closed a few tasks people who weren’t assigned to receive notifications for those tasks, even old consultants whose account I had disabled years ago, received the email notification. I also received lots of bounced emails from accounts whose email addresses were no longer existant.

Has anyone else experienced this? I’ve gone into the database and null’d out the email addresses of old accounts to prevent further spam. Not only did it notify everyone who had an account (active or disabled) but it put their email address in the To: field for all to see.

Charles Stevenson commented on 06.01.2016 20:53

Only one user, the task creator, was setup to receive notifications and everyone in the user database received a notice

Charles Stevenson commented on 08.01.2016 15:16

It's actually still emailing every user whenever a task is created, changed, or closed. How can I stop this? I'm the only person setup to receive notifications as the project admin.

Project Manager
peterdd commented on 12.01.2016 01:56

Could you please try to upgrade to github master and check if the problem is gone?

A similiar problem was reported in FS#2075 and was fixed in November 2015.

Charles Stevenson commented on 13.01.2016 19:28

I'll give it a shot. What I ended up doing was turning off the force email notifications and setting it to allow the user to choose. I also went into each project and re-saved my notification settings to see if that would help. I don't know if it was something in the database that was corrupted during the migration or if it was something in the source code? Where does it pull the list of people to email if a task is created in any project? I imagine that would only be admin users and I'm the only admin. If I get a chance I will pull from github.

Loading...

Available keyboard shortcuts

Tasklist

Task Details

Task Editing